No, I Don’t Mean Happy Holidays, I Mean Merry Christmas

This was printed in a couple of newspapers last Christmas and I think it bears repeating now.

Merry Christmas!

Some folks say that it is not politically correct to say “Merry Christmas” to You because You may take offense.

Politically correct is for politicians who must get elected.

When I wish You “Merry Christmas” I mean it.

I don’t just mean Happy Holidays. I mean Merry Christmas.

I am a Christian but, I am not trying to convert You or force my religious beliefs on You.

Christmas is important to me, so wishing You “Merry Christmas” shows how I feel about You.

So, Merry Christmas!

I hope happiness finds You

And, although I am not Buddhist, when I say “Merry Christmas” please hear “A peaceful and joyful Vesak”

Merry Christmas!

I wish that You have a season full of joy

And, although I am not Jewish, when I say “Merry Christmas” please hear “Happy Hannukah”

Merry Christmas!

I hope You have Days of plenty

And although I am not Muslim, when I say “Merry Christmas” please hear “Have a blessed Ramadan”

Merry Christmas!

I wish that your friends and family are safe and happy

Although I am not of African descent, when I say “Merry Christmas” please hear “Joyous Kwanzaa”

Merry Christmas!

I hope You find some joy every day

Although I am not an atheist, when I say “Merry Christmas” please hear, “I wish You happiness”

I don’t know Your religious beliefs, or even if You have any but, I do, sincerely and with all my heart wish You a very Merry Christmas!

About John

It is important to me to treat women not just fairly but well.
This entry was posted in columns and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No, I Don’t Mean Happy Holidays, I Mean Merry Christmas

  1. Miss Audrey says:

    Lovely, lovely, lovely!

Leave a Reply

